How to get a fresh start

photo_1032_20060207Taking of fresh starts, I can remember nearly every moment of that day in June of 1995. It was warm day and I was in the Navy. I had been reasonably successful and was looking forward to another 12 years of a career I enjoyed. However, that day as I walked across to see my boss I was slightly apprehensive. For I knew a series of redundancies was being announced. I had come to the conclusion if I was to be made redundant he would giving me the news there and then. I had even come to the conclusion that if I went to his office and he had a brown envelope on his desk, my number was up. So it was with immense relief I went in and say no brown envelope.

Actually, the envelope was blue and it was in his desk drawer. At that moment all that I knew, all the my friendships and all that I had worked hard for came to an end – I was devastated.

However, looking back today I realise it allowed me to follow my higher calling to become a minister. Yet it was very painful – but there again – most fresh starts are.

As a Christian I believe that Easter is the time we remember that Jesus Christ was arrested, given a shame trail and then tortured to death. Nevertheless he also rose from the dead.

And a result, we believe that nothing not even death is the end but always a fresh start. Everything with God can be a new beginning.

Easter then is a reminder that we can not only survive but grow through problems, pains and losses of life if receive fresh starts. We can help people in real trouble by offering them a fresh start

Above all, no matter how impossible a situation looks, it can often be solved with if give a fresh start to ourselves.

Easter then may be a time of dead endings but is also a time of ‘living’ if painful beginnings.

Leave a comment